Curry Quotes

Bits of wisdom and denialist chum from Judith Curry

Judith Curry on weak methodologies and important insights

leave a comment »

Fred, I reread the Huber/Knutti paper with the intention of starting a thread on this, but I really can’t see any merit or conclusions of interest here. It is a weak methodology that agrees with a bunch of previous studies, so there is no surprising result. I can do a post that tears the paper apart, but since I don’t think this is a very significant paper, i don’t think it is worth the effort?
- Judith Curry

Von Storch refers to Hulme’s analysis as “remarkable.” I agree. In fact I give this paper a “wow.” For those of you wondering when/why I give something a “wow,” it implies that the paper or whatever significantly changes the way I think about something. This does not necessarily imply a belief change, but it changes the way I think about a subject. What is a “wow” for me may not be relevant for someone else. This particular paper provides some important insights, and I really like the phrase and concept of “epistemic slippage.” This paper deserves to be widely discussed, and I look forward to interesting discussion here.
- Judith Curry

I just finished listening to Murry Salby’s podcast on Climate Change and Carbon. Wow. [...] If Salby’s analysis holds up, this could revolutionize AGW science. [...] While all this is frustratingly preliminary without publication, slides, etc., it is sufficiently important that we should start talking about these issues.
- Judith Curry

Written by cquo

December 28, 2011 at 9:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

